If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the Register link to proceed.


language support

Getting the steno keyboard into muscle memory

Moderator: stenoknight

kertase
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:23 am

language support

Postby kertase » Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:13 am

Hello,

I just had the pleasure of discover plover. I got all fired up but I could not fail to notice that unfortunately only english was supported. Or so it seems.

Are theories/Dictionaries for any other language available? German? French? Italian?

Though I never did practice stenography, I have been intrigued by it for quite some time and wish to help.

Greetings

stenoknight
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: language support

Postby stenoknight » Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:48 pm

Yes, sadly, only English is supported at the moment, unless you're willing to go into the source and change the keyboard layout manually. We definitely hope to build a GUI that allows people to change their keyboard layouts at some point in the future.

kertase
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:23 am

Re: language support

Postby kertase » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:48 pm

]Ok, I had my fun trying to figure out what had to be modified. In the end I changed everything I found:
https://github.com/kertase/plover/
German layout inspired by http://www.zav.cz/german/compkomasch.htm
To Do: • German Orthography Rules
•check suffix Rules in plover/translation.py
•Start a Dictionnary

stenoknight
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: language support

Postby stenoknight » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:09 am

Cool! :'D

TMinh
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:45 am

Re: language support

Postby TMinh » Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:52 am

Hi, I am so glad I've found this post. Please show me how to change the keyboard layout because I want to type Vietnamese. I am willing to go into the source and change the layout manually.
Thanks


Return to “The layout”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron